Fatima Ebrahimi

Fatima Ebrahimi is a Research Physicist at the PPPL Theory Department and an Affiliated Research Scholar at the Department of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University. Dr. Ebrahimi received her Ph.D. in Plasma Physics from the University of Wisconsin--Madison in 2003.

Upon receiving her Ph.D., she was a Research Associate, and then Research Scientist with the National Science Foundation (NSF) Frontier Center for Magnetic Self-Organization in Laboratory and Astrophysical Plasmas (CMSO) at the university of Wisconsin--Madison. In May 2010, she became a Research Assistant Professor at the University of New Hampshire, and was Research Faculty until December 2012. She then started a Research Staff Appointment at Princeton University in 2013.

Dr. Ebrahimi's research interests span from magnetically confined fusion plasmas to flow-driven plasmas, such as accretion disks. Her primary research experience has been in the field of theoretical and global-computational extended magnetohydrodynamics (MHD), with wide applications to fusion and astrophysical plasmas. Her main research interests include: studies of MHD stability in fusion plasmas, momentum transport from current-driven tearing and flow-driven magnetorotational instabilities, generation of large-scale magnetic field in magnetically and flow-dominated self-organized systems, and magnetic reconnection in fusion/laboratory and astrophysical plasmas. Over the years, she has been closely collaborating with fusion plasma experimentalists, including the MST and dynamo experiments. She is currently in close collaboration with the NSTX-U team, and is the topical science group leader for theory/modeling of Solenoid-free Start-up & Ramp-up in NSTX-U.

Dr. Ebrahimi is the Principal Investigator (PI) of several Department of Energy (DOE) and NSF grants, and has served on multiple panels. She also served on the American Physical Society (APS) Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) program committee in 2011. She is an elected member of APS-DPP Executive Committee (2013-2016) and a member of the Executive Committee for the International Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference (2014-2017).